Developing Matt

My Technical Journal

How do you keep yourself motivated?

with one comment

Do you ever get burned out? How do you keep yourself focused on technology that you encounter and work with on a daily basis?  How do you keep yourself interested in the new? 

Lately, I’ve found myself in a situation where I’m pushing myself to remain on top of things, and the push has become less and less significant.  Just last week it turned into a pull.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the technology, but reward sometimes doesn’t outweigh the work involved.  I have a 9-5 job that doesn’t require me to be on the up and up, but I know it benefits them when I do.  To keep myself current, I’m going to attempt to take at least 2 of the tests required for the database developer certification this year.  But the drive wanes.

I don’t have the money or the means to make it to any more conventions, so I can’t depend on that any more.  I have plenty of distractions: an active family and an active photography blog to name a couple.

I don’t know how people like Adam Machanic or Kim Tripp and Paul Randal and Itzik keep going..keep posting…keep writing.  I don’t know how they continue to keep up the drive.  Maybe it is because they get paid for their efforts and maybe that is a copout bent on self-disservice…an excuse that isn’t fair to them.  They weren’t always at the media top.  They worked to get there.

Regardless, I haven’t written in a while.  Simply, I’m waiting for the drive to return.  It will.  If you have any jump-starting ideas I’m game! 

Written by matt

January 25, 2010 at 11:31 am

Posted in OffTopic

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom LaRock often emphasizes that you need to do what energizes you, and I’ve found that really helpful. There’s a million ways you can give back to the community. If writing isn’t floating your boat, don’t do it. Doing things in your spare time you don’t want to do is a sure ticket to burnout.

    Brent Ozar

    February 2, 2010 at 1:10 pm


Leave a Reply

