Developing Matt

My Technical Journal

Middle Click to end your day

with 2 comments

If you use your middle click button to close tabs, don’t do it in ssms for the tab you aren’t on.  It will close the tab you are on. 

Explanation: I use the middle click to close tabs.  It works in ie, firefox, chrome, ssms, visual studio, and coworkers.  Anytime you want to end a conversation or a window just middle-click with the mouse.  It quickly solves all your juggling-in-memory-tired-of-talking-to-this-person tasks.  It works brilliantly on active windows that you are currently conversing in…. as well as the in-active, behind the scene tabs.  (the ones that are still slowing down your performance but you might need in two days but you don’t want to add to your ever expanding favorites that you never look at)

The exception to this middle click wonderfulness? SQL Server Management Studio.

Follow me: Open a new query window and write something like ‘leave me.close me’.  Now open another one and write ‘don’t leave me. leave me open.’  And leave that one up staring back at you.  With your mouse middle clicker button wheelie thing punch it on the inactive window (the one you can’t see that says ‘leave me.close me’).  What happens?  What is looking back at you?  The one that says ‘leave me.close me.’    See?  It closes the one you are on. 

It only takes one time to learn this silly little exception…if this happens on a query that you have put your soul into.  Yes.  You are one middle wheelie click thingie away from having a BAD DAY.

(this applies to ssms 2005 and 2008)

Written by matt

May 6, 2009 at 8:20 am

Posted in Sql Server

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Matt,
    I’m racking my brain as to what is wrong with the SSMS editor experiance as you have described. If I’m currently in the “leave me open” editor window and then middle click on the “close me” editor tab, in SSMS we change the focus to the window you want to close and then prompt to save changes for that window. If we didn’t change focus to the tab that was being closed, you wouldn’t know if you closed the wrong window.
    Thanks,
    Bill Ramos, Microsoft

    Bill Ramos

    May 20, 2009 at 3:40 pm

  2. Hmm… not sure how to explain it except that the the focus never changes to the window activated by the middle click.

    I made a quick vid of it. The first application is ssms in 2008, the second in 2008. I create a ‘do not close this’ tab and a ‘close this’ tab. I place the focus on the ‘DO NOT CLOSE THIS’ tab and with the middle click only i click the the other tab (the one i want to close). It doesn’t set the focus on the tab, instead the focus remains on current one and closes it.
    http://mattclingan.com/downloadthis/middleclickmadness.avi

    matt

    May 21, 2009 at 7:54 am


Leave a Reply

